Today was my last day of work…at SCARP…at UBC…in Vancouver.

The situation is bitter sweet as I long and look forward to some time off and the month that lies ahead but am sad because the end of my job also means the end of our time in Vancouver and leaving all of our dear friends.

My last day of work went well. I have been training my replacement all week which has absolutely and in every way worn me out. So while I should and want to be feeling excited and joyful, I instead feel exhausted and tried. I received a huge bouquet of flowers from everyone in the office first thing this morning which I displayed proudly on my desk. Several students popped in to wish me farewell and I received phone calls & emails from some faculty and staff thanking me for a job well done. I felt flattered and undeserving. I also received a very unexpected phone call from my great friend Jess (who lives in Chicago) just congratulating me on my last day. It was great to hear her beautiful voice. I was taken out to lunch, along with the other office staff, to Sage Bistro, our favourite little restaurant on campus (I was also taken there last week by some of the PhD students!). A little before my day was over, I had to go to the key desk to return my office keys and get back my deposit (!!!) but as I did that I quickly went to the pub across the street where a friend of mine (who works down the hall) was also celebrating the end of her job. I said hello, drank a beer and went on my merry way back to work. The day finished unceremoniously and I left 15 minutes early. My work there is done.